First St. George city officials get sworn in

ST. GEORGE– The City of St. George had a ceremony on Monday to honor its first government officials sworn in.

Monday’s ceremony marked the start of government, as Steven Monachello (District 1), Ryan Heck (District 2), Max Himmel (District 3), Richie Edmonds, and Patty Cook (at-large), Interim Mayor Dustin Yates and Police Chief Todd Morris were all sworn in.

Louisiana Gov. Jeff Landry appointed the council members, Yates and Morris in May.

The new city will be the fifth-largest in the state after the Louisiana Supreme Court ruled that St. George could incorporate. Voters approved of the incorporation in October 2019.

Download the Unfiltered with Kiran app from the Apple App Store and Google Play to stay updated on the latest news across the Capital area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interested in advertising with us?

We’d love to have you on the team! Drop us a line and we’ll be happy to follow up. 


Let's Connect

Follow along on your favorite social media platform and get the latest updates directly in your feed!

Got a tip on a story?

Submit a Tip

Have a tip on a story? Send it directly to our team using the form below!