LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels wins Heisman Trophy

BATON ROUGE – Record-setting LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels became the third Heisman winner in the school’s history Saturday night in New York.

Daniels joins Joe Burrow in 2019 and Billy Cannon in 1959 as LSU’s only winners. According to LSU, The school’s other top five finishers for the Heisman Trophy include RB Jerry Stovall in 1962 (runner-up), QB Bert Jones in 1972 (fourth) and defensive back Tyrann Mathieu in 2011 (fifth). Daniels beat out Oregon quarterback Bo Nix, Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr. and Ohio State wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr.

Daniels, a native of San Bernadino, Calif., is in his second year at LSU after three at Arizona State. He leads the nation in total offense (412.2), passing TDs (40), TDs responsible for (50), yards per pass attempt (11.7), yards per play (10.71), and rushing yards by a quarterback (1,134). His passer efficiency rating of 208.01 is the highest in FBS history.

The 412.2 yards of total offense is nearly 75 yards per game more than the next closest player – Nix at Oregon with 338.1 per game. According to LSU, Daniels’ 50 TDs accounted for are more touchdowns than 83 FBS teams have scored this year, while his 412.2 total yards per game is a higher average than 85 teams.

Daniels ranks No. 3 in passing yards (3,812) and passing yards per game (317.7).

On Nov 11 against Florida, Daniels made history by becoming the first player in FBS history to rush for 200 yards and pass for 350 yards in a game during the team’s 52-35 win. Daniels tied Burrow’s school record with eight touchdowns in a 56-14 rout.

In addition to the Heisman, Daniels won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and was named the Associated Press Player of the Year. The Johnny Unitas Award goes to the nation’s top quarterback who best exemplifies character, scholastic and athletic achievement.

Daniels received 35 of the 51 first-place votes and 130 total points from AP Top 25 poll voters for Player of the Year. He finished ahead of Penix, who was second with 15 first-place votes and 97 points.

The last LSU player to be named AP Player of the Year was Joe Burrow in 2019, when he also won the Heisman.

Download the Unfiltered with Kiran app from the Apple App Store and Google Play to stay updated on the latest news across the Capital area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interested in advertising with us?

We’d love to have you on the team! Drop us a line and we’ll be happy to follow up. 


Let's Connect

Follow along on your favorite social media platform and get the latest updates directly in your feed!

Got a tip on a story?

Submit a Tip

Have a tip on a story? Send it directly to our team using the form below!