Kansas City Chiefs

Three players from LSU’s 2019 championship team in Sunday’s Super Bowl

Kansas City Chiefs running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire (photo courtesy of the Kansas City Chiefs)

BATON ROUGE – Three former LSU football players – Clyde Edwards-Helaire, Neil Farrell, and Ty Davis-Price are competing for a Super Bowl ring on Sunday when the NFL’s championship game takes place in Las Vegas.

Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m.

LSU has had at least one player on the roster of teams competing in the Super Bowl for 23 straight years. LSU’s streak dates back to January of 2002 when running back Kevin Faulk made the first of five Super Bowl appearances.

Edwards-Helaire and Farrell are key contributors for the Chief and Davis-Price is on the practice squad for the 49ers. All three players were part of the 2019 national championship team.

Edwards-Helaire is making his third appearance in the Super Bowl, while Farrell and Davis-Price are playing in the game for the first time. Edwards-Helaire was a part of the Chiefs’ 38-35 victory over the Eagles last year. The Chiefs lost to the Tampa Bay Bucs in Edwards-Helaire’s first Super Bowl appearance in 2021. 

According to LSU athletics, 47 former Tigers have combined to win 57 Super Bowl rings. Faulk has three Super Bowl rings to lead all former LSU players.

Eight former LSU players have won two Super Bowls – Rohan Davey, Randall Gay, Jarvis Green, Tory James, Leonard Marshall, Booger McFarland, Spencer Ware and Corey Webster.

Download the Unfiltered with Kiran app from the Apple App Store and Google Play to stay updated on the latest news across the Capital area.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interested in advertising with us?

We’d love to have you on the team! Drop us a line and we’ll be happy to follow up. 


Let's Connect

Follow along on your favorite social media platform and get the latest updates directly in your feed!

Got a tip on a story?

Submit a Tip

Have a tip on a story? Send it directly to our team using the form below!